IWBC Welcomes Marin Alsop to our June Conference

In keeping with our mission of education and outreach, at every IWBC Conference we honor musicians of the past and present who are making a difference. For our 25th Anniversary Conference we welcome some very special people.

The Susan Slaughter Award for Leadership is being presented for the first time at our 2017 conference, to a true legend in the field of music. Marin Alsop has been a champion of equality, and her career sets the highest example of professionalism and outreach. This award is given by IWBC Founder Susan Slaughter in grateful appreciation for  a career spent making a difference for women in music through a lifetime of service. Marin will join us at the conference on Friday, June 9th to accept her award.

The IWBC President’s Award honors those who have been steadfast supporters of our activities and mission on this our twenty-fifth anniversary. We salute these award winners for showcasing true professionalism, and living their lives with a dedication to equality and service.  Our 2017 Award Winner is Philip Biggs, Editor and Founder of the The Brass Herald magazine.

At each conference, beginning with the first in 1993, the IWBC has recognized women who have been pioneers in the top levels of brass performance, breaking down barriers and living their lives effecting change for those who have followed. Each awardee’s career and spirit exemplify the goals and traditions of the IWBC. This year three women, Abbie Conant, Julia Studebaker, and Sharon Moe will be awarded this honor. Join these women on Thursday, June 8th for a Roundtable Discussion about their lives and careers.

The Beacon Award is given to women who have been beacons of light for those around them, both in the fields of performance and education. These women influence so many generations of musicians through their careers sharing the art of performance, and stand for the values of equity, perseverance, and excellence. This conference we honor two such artists, Peggy Thomas and Mildred Kemp.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to honor those who have achieved success in the field of music, through a career dedicated to the highest level of performance, education and outreach.  Our own IWBC Founding Member Ginger Turner is this year’s recipient, as she wraps up a 27 year career performing with the United States Army Field Band.

We thank all our award winners for their perseverance and service. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@IWBC_BRASS) to see photos and stories about our awardees leading up to the conference, and then during our conference join us live or online as we honor these trailblazing musicians. As always, visit http://myiwbc.org to read more, become a member or renew your membership, and donate to our scholarship programs.


Dr. Joanna Ross Hersey
President, International Women’s Brass Conference
Associate Professor of Tuba and Euphonium: The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Yamaha Artist, Tuba and Euphonium, Parker Mouthpiece Artist
Facebook, Twitter@JoannaHersey, Instagram@JoannaRossHersey