The International Women’s Brass Conference’s mission is to educate, develop, support, and promote women brass musicians while inspiring continued excellence and opportunities in the broader musical world. Membership is open to all  who would like to support this effort.

The IWBC has successfully worked toward its mission by:

  • Hosting international conferences.
  • Supporting outstanding musicians through the Susan Slaughter Solo Competition, many of whom have moved into successful careers in music. The additions of the Ginger Turner Ensemble Competition and Penny Turner Young Artist Award also have the mission to support and inspire young musicians everywhere.
  • Commissioning new music for brass.
  • Publishing NoteWorthy, the biannual newsletter of the IWBC.

Publications available through the IWBC include ‘Women Brass Musicians, Past and Present,’ compiled by the Pioneer’s Committee, and the ‘IWBC Directory of Women Brass Performers and Teachers.’

Susan Slaughter

Founder, IWBC


Welcome to our new President, Dr. Amy Cherry!

Dr. Amy Cherry

President, IWBC

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

IWBC Pioneer Melba Liston was featured on the poster for the first IWBC in St. Louis in 1993. In an effort to fulfill the promise of her image and her inspiration, the IWBC continues to develop the leadership and participation of all brass players in the IWBC. An Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee has been formed with current initiatives that include the sponsorship of the Chromatic Brass Collective, a mentorship program, video series Flexibilities, and EDI training for the Board of Directors. The 2022 IWBC at the University of North Texas will feature sessions, panels, ensembles, and soloists that encourage and highlight diversity, equity, and inclusion. The competitions repertoire will include women and BIPOC composers in all rounds of all competitions. The IWBC is deeply committed to including all brass players in our organization.

Meet Our Executive Team

Amy Cherry


Marquita Reef

Vice President

Natalie Mannix


Lynn Mostoller


Board of Directors

Raquel Samayoa

Raquel Samayoa leads a dynamic and engaging career as a teacher, chamber musician, recitalist, adjudicator and solo performer. She is Associate Professor of Trumpet, and

Read More »

Nancy Joy

Growing up on a walnut farm in Springfield, Ohio with “ blue grass” and “gospel” music in her genes, Nancy Joy played horn, trumpet, cello, sang in the choir and

Read More »

Natalie Mannix

Natalie Mannix is an avid soloist, chamber musician, orchestral performer and educator. She is currently Associate Professor of Trombone at the University of North Texas and trombonist

Read More »

Ginger Turner

Ginger Turner retired from 27 year tenure performing with The United States Army Field Band. Her career has included playing principal trumpet, performing featured solos

Read More »

Velvet Brown

Velvet Brown is professor of tuba and euphonium at Penn State University.  Prior to joining the faculty in 2003, she taught at Bowling Green State

Read More »

Susan Slaughter

Susan Slaughter joined the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra in l969 and four years later became the first woman ever to be named Principal Trumpet of

Read More »

Amy Gilreath

Amy Gilreath has won the respect and praise of musicians and audiences the world over for her beautiful sound and expressive interpretations.  As a soloist

Read More »

Laurel Ohlson

Laurel Bennert Ohlson, National Symphony Orchestra Associate Principal Horn, has appeared as a concerto soloist with the National Symphony Orchestra, Eclipse Chamber Orchestra and Virginia Chamber

Read More »

Theresa Hanebury

Theresa Hanebury, trumpet, has been a member of the Houston Ballet Orchestra since 1983 where in addition to playing with the orchestra she also now serves

Read More »

Kana Madarame

Kana Madarame, born in Mito, Ibaraki, Japan holds an undergraduate degree from Tokyo Gakugei Univrsity and a graduate degree from Tokyo National University of Fine

Read More »

Daniel Burdick

Dan Burdick (he/him), pioneering queer brass artist, is excited to be the euphonium and tuba faculty member at the State College of Florida. He tours

Read More »

Angela Wellman

Angela M. Wellman is an award-winning trombonist, scholar, music educator, and activist. She began playing trombone in elementary school and began playing professionally at age

Read More »

Amy Cherry

Amy Cherry is currently a freelance musician and trumpet teacher in the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania area. She holds a B.M. in Trumpet Performance from the University

Read More »

Jennifer Marotta

Jennifer Marotta is a Los Angeles based musician who teaches trumpet at the University of Southern California’s Thornton School of Music. As an active freelance

Read More »

Marquita Reef

Marquita Reef is a music educator in St. Louis, Missouri.  She holds a position at Metro Academic and Classical High School where she teaches a

Read More »

Ava Ordman

After twenty-four years as principal trombone with the Grand Rapids Symphony – a job she attained at the age of 19 – Ava Ordman moved

Read More »

Lynn Mostoller

Lynn Mostoller joined the Santa Fe Symphony in 2004, where she currently serves as second trombonist. From 1991 to 2001 she served as principal trombonist

Read More »

Jan Duga

Jan Z Duga is a freelance tubist and educator in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Originally from Columbus, Ohio, she was the first female tubist

Read More »

Faye-Ellen Silverman

Faye-Ellen Silverman began her music studies before the age of four at the Dalcroze School of Music in New York City. She first achieved national

Read More »

Emeritus Board

Carole Dawn Reinhart
Marie Speziale
Sharon Huff

Honorary Board Members

Barbara Butler
JoAnn Falletta
Langston Fitzgerald, III
Fred Irby, III
Julie Landsman
Eugene Pokorny
Gerard Schwarz
Leonard Slatkin
Gail Williams

Emeritus & Honorary Board Members

Our Board Member Emeritus status is given to those whose service and dedication have been central to the success of the organization. Emeritus Board Members have retired from active service to the Board, but are chosen to receive this honor in recognition of their longstanding efforts and support. We thank you for your commitment to our mission, and for your mentoring and leadership. 

IWBC’s Honorary Board is an elite group of individuals who are willing to lend their names in support of our orgniazation. The Honorary Board is made up of prominent community members who are committed to the mission of IWBC. 


IWBC is grateful for the people who have helped to shape this organization throughout the years including all of the past and present board members and volunteers who have so graciously dedicated their time to our organization.

Past Presidents

Joanna Ross Hersey


Maureen Horgan


Kelly Watkins


Gail Robertson


Sharon Huff


Marie Speziale


Susan Slaughter


IWBC Team Members

Lauren Rudzinskas

General Manager

Sharon Huff


Lana Lee

Website Management