Lone Star Wind Orchestra

The Lone Star Wind Orchestra (LSWO) was founded in April 2006 by Robert Clark, Barry Knezek, and Christopher Tucker. The driving force behind forming this performing ensemble was the collective agreement between the founders to build an orchestra from a player’s perspective and be a vital participant in the North Texas arts community. The founders were in agreement that the organization needed to focus on these core values: making the best possible music, giving back to the community, and reaching out to the under-served.

The LSWO performs classical transcriptions, chamber music, and contemporary wind band literature in some of the finest performance halls available, primarily the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center, the Charles W. Eisemann Center, and the Moody Performance Hall. The Lone Star Wind Orchestra is proud to nurture musical growth through its guest artists and conductors, and to support the expansion of the wind band repertoire through commissioning new works.

These accomplishments are in addition to the numerous programs performed for free to community outreach groups and organizations. The Lone Star Wind Orchestra strives to embody “Music Changing Lives” to audiences and as a role model for young students, encouraging the pursuit of music involvement as a life-long passion.